Norsk English


Great Grandmaster Liu Yun-Qiao

Great Grandmaster Liu Yun Qiao

Founder of Wu-Tan and master of styles such as Bajiquan, Piguazhang and Baguazhang.
Grandmaster Kurt Wong

Grandmaster Kurt Wong

Our instructor's shifu teaches traditional guoshu in the city of Anchorage, Alaska.
Sifu Paolo Castaneda

Shifu Paolo Castaneda

Wu-Tan's proud tradition was brought to Oslo by Shifu Paolo Castaneda, head instructor at Oslo Wu-Tan.

About Taijiquan


Taijiquan (also spelled Tai Chi Chuan), or grand ultimate fist, is considered one of the three major internal styles of guoshu. Chen style Taijiquan is the oldest version of Taijiquan, and the other major styles of Taijiquan such as Yang, Wu, Sun, and Hao styles are derived from Chen Taijiquan. Unlike the solely health oriented trend of a lot of Taijiquan schools, we maintain Taijiquan's original practice of combat usage.

The origin of Taijiquan can be traced back to Chen Jia Gou, Chen family village. A general by the name of Chen Wang-Ting had just retired from military service under the Ming dynasty and returned home to Chen Jia Gou. It was reputed that Chen was an expert in Hongquan (Shaolin Red Fist) and his family style of Pao Chui (Cannon Fist). In his mature age, he gathered all he knew of martial arts and began devising a new style. Chen would combine his knowledge of his previous styles with new elements such as the Yin and Yang theories of opposite to create Taijiquan.

Chen Taijiquan as it was taught originally contained many difficult moves, even for the most accomplished martial artists. Several generations later, Chen Chang-Xin eliminated the more difficult movements and condensed the system into two forms, the Lao Jia, which contains 72 postures, and Pao Chui.

Chin Na

In Oslo Wu-Tan, three levels of Chen Taijiquan are taught. The first level is the 36 movement short form. This form was created by Adam Hsu to introduce beginners to the essence of Chen Taijiquan. It's movements were borrowed from the Lao Jia. The form also introduces the practioners to low postures which helps in training the legs and sinking one's qi.

The second stage is Lao Jia. The form contains 72 postures. The emphasis of Lao Jia is to develop internal energy and chan su jing, silk reeling (spiraling) power, the trademark of Chen Taijiquan. Although the form is played slow, there are moments where one issues fa jing (explosive power).

The final level is called Pao Chui, or cannon fist. Unlike the previous two forms, the form is played fast with an emphasis on fa jing. At this level, one develops the speed and power necessary for combat.